On The Chain Gang #12 — Brainstorming

My LINK in the Blog Chain

THE BLOG CHAIN is comprised of a group of fiction writers from Query Tracker and Rally Storm. We thought it would be fun and insightful to acquire differing ideas and opinions on a particular writing topic.

So, we work through the chain posting one-by-one with the same general focus, and then, we repeat the process with a new topic for discussion. We have a couple of new authors in the Blog Chain, and I am lucky enough to follow one who just posted her fabulous debut link in the chain, Christine Fonseca, be sure to check it out! My friend, Elana, will be posting tomorrow. And, if you’d like to read the chain from the beginning, start at Terri’s blog.. I would also like to welcome the additional new member of our chain, Kat Harris who’s already forged her first link!

All Blog Chain members are listed in the sidebar to the right.
My previous Link in the Blog Chain was on the topic of The Writer’s Elixir.

 

This Round’s Topic is:

 

Do you brainstorm with a friend when you are plotting, or do you prefer to be the only one who knows what your characters are going to do?

 

brainstorming

 

Brainstorming: Procrastinating Effectively!

 

 

I am a loner… well, that is if you don’t count all of the characters in my head. When story ideas are jumbling and jiving, sometimes it is all I can do to keep up with them and the characters sharing their perspectives. I can’t even imagine including any additional input during those times. These thoughts and characters are an unruly bunch, invading every aspect of my life. I can never know when something might strike and ignite a spark that sets my brain on fire.

I like to carry around Mead notebooks to jot down ideas, sketch scenes, grasp bits of dialogue, or whatever else might tickle my fancy. But even these neanderthal notes haven’t got a chance at being shared with anyone. No, ideas are strictly for those involved in the process…my characters and me as the author.

Sometimes I wonder if my so called brainstorming is just a way of wasting time. But I have come to the conclusion that it is not. Story ideas need time to cultivate and mature, so to me, brainstorming is just a way to procrastinate effectively.

Once I have a first draft completed, then I am more than willing (eager actually), to acquire feedback on my work. That is where I find my writing buddies to be a godsend. Reading, critiquing and editing…thanks for all of your help!

 

I would love to hear from you…leave me a COMMENT. hmmm

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on February 12, 2009.

12 Responses to “On The Chain Gang #12 — Brainstorming”

  1. I come up with the story without brainstorming partners too. It helps me work it out to not have input from the outside. Once I have a direction and the story on paper, I trouble-shoot with brainstorming.

  2. I have a bunch of characters living in MY head too…WE brainstrom in a similar fashion. Great post.

  3. I agree with you that story ideas need time to ferment. I’m also glad to hear I’m not the only writer out there who doesn’t brainstorm with others.

  4. I am a lot like you. I only recently brainstormed with another writer friend, and it was so refreshing to step outside of that box.

    Wow.

    Great post!

  5. LOL procrastinating effectively….I like that!! πŸ˜€ I’ve just started doing the notebook thing. I tried writing in them, but I’m not too good at that. But I am finding them handy for all those “random” thoughts and ideas that pop into my head at odd moments. I wish I had my notebook near me the other day…I finally thought of the perfect name for my new MC and I have since forgotten it. Oh well πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Valentines Day to you and yours! Hope you get lot’s of chocolate! 😎

  7. Ah, I carry around notebooks, too. I have a little bitty one for my purse, and I always have pens! But I would never let someone see my first draft! πŸ˜€

  8. Hee hee hee – procrastinating effectively. I have many activities (most of them online) that I put under that category heading.

    I also do the notebook thing – although I don’t carry it around with me – it is too huge for that, which probably means that I should invest in smaller one… especially since I tend to open the notebook to any random blank page and then when I want to find what I wrote I have to flip through the whole darn thing to try and find it again!

  9. Well, I didnt seek advice on my plot until I was finished and I was in tweak mode. The feedback I received was really valuable!

  10. Great post! I never thought of brain storming as “procrastinating effectively”, but that’s pretty much what it is.

    πŸ™‚ Terri

  11. Hi !
    Its a wonderful post i find through my whole day . It is great see this article.

    Maxcy

  12. Great post, Abi!

Leave a Reply

 
