Getting The Hook…

globalwarmingcactus

(This post has nothing to do with Globalwarming, but the picture fit my purpose.)

 

Why are QUERIES so darned hard to write?

 

Getting a literary agent to notice your query letter can be a prickly proposition.

 

Trying to summarize a story that is so full of life into a few minuscule sentences seems near impossible. You have spent months, maybe years, writing and polishing your novel. You know more about the characters, the plots, and the story-world than ever made their way into the prose. So how do you step back an take an objective look at your novel in order to craft those few words to explain it all? It almost makes your novel sound trivial — to think the hours slaved away can be summed up in one or two sentences.

 

But you sit down to pound out the query letter, and your characters, plots, and subplots jump to the forefront of your brain and demand a moment in the spotlight. “Don’t forget to mention me,” and “My plot line makes the whole book better,” along with a multitude of other ideas take over and pretty soon you are writing a book report instead of a query letter.

Well, my writer friend, Michelle McLean, wrote a fabulous post a few days ago… How To Write A Hook Line Or Logline. This is a MUST read! I found it so inspiring and motivating. She really sparked my think-concepts-not-details mind set.

After reading Michelle’s post, I stumbled across Colleen Lindsay’s Query in 140 Characters or Less contest (see this post). It seemed to scream at me that I needed to revamp my query letter. And believe me, trying to get the hook line into 140 characters was challenging, but I thought it would be a terrific exercise in writing hook lines. I came up with two that I thought weren’t too bad…

 

Abandoned in the mortal world, Stormy Reed teams with the magical Griffins to discover a destiny of revenge against the Nefarious Nobleman.

 

And the one I entered…

 

When Stormy Reed decides he’s crazy, the Griffins reveal his destiny of revenge and turn his mortal life into a magical and dangerous adventure.

 

Of course I had to replace the word “and” with ampersands twice to meet the 140 character limit. 🙂

Michelle’s wonderful reminder lesson on hook lines was just the kick I needed to get me excited about rewriting my query letter…again. I hope you will find it motivating as well.

 

So get practicing those hook lines,

and Happy query writing!

 

What do you think?
Leave me a COMMENT. hmmm

 

 

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on January 18, 2009.

6 Responses to “Getting The Hook…”

  1. I SOOOOOOO needed this post today as I am in query / hook writing HELL! Thanks for lending your expertise and those of your friends!

  2. You can do it! You can write an awesome Query Letter. We believe in you.

  3. Nicely done…Great post!

  4. Thanks for the link. Great post.

    The biggest problem with query hooks is making them sound unique. I fear the word cliche. meh.

  5. You’re my contest winner!!! Let me know which pendant you like (for your daughter or for yourself), and email me your address to tovadarling@gmail.com, and it’s all yours! Congrats!

  6. This is good information!

Leave a Reply

 
