Christmas Poem

12741789

 

Santa Claus

He comes in the night! He comes in the night!
He softly, silently comes,

While the little brown heads on the pillows so white
Are dreaming of bugles and drums.

He cuts thro’ the snow like a ship thro’ the foam,
While the white flakes ’round him whirl.

Who tells him I know not, but he findeth the home
Of each good little boy and girl.

His sleigh it is long, and deep, and wide;
It will carry a host of things,

While dozens of drums hang over the side,
With the sticks sticking under the strings.

And yet not the sound of a drum is heard,
Not a bugle blast is blown,

As he mounts to the chimney-top like a bird,
And drops to the hearth like stone.

The little red stockings he silently fills,
Till the stockings will hold no more;

The bright little sleds for the great snow hills
Are quickly set down on the floor.

Then Santa Claus mounts to the roof like a bird,
And glides to his seat in the sleigh;

Not the sound of a bugle or drum is heard
As he noiselessly gallops away.

~~ Author Unknown

I love it when you leave me a COMMENT… hmmm

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on December 7, 2008.

7 Responses to “Christmas Poem”

  1. OMG! Your blog snows! That is the coolest thing I think I’ve ever seen. Sorry, I’m easily impressed.

    I saw your comment on my F2S entry on the Authoress’ blog, and thought I’d pop over and say hi! So, Hi!

  2. This made me laugh – it reminded me of the Calvin & Hobbes comic where Calvin was listening to “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” on the radio, and he said, “Santa Claus: kindly old elf, or CIA spook?” In this poem, though, Santa seems to be a ninja, moving silently through
    the night.

  3. Cute Poem!
    I agree I loved the snow so much I made Joe find a snow plug in.
    Thanks for the inspiration! 😉

  4. i’m so happy to read your poem make fress again to mamorie everything

  5. Hermayani: It’s nice to remember those special memories of long ago, especially at Christmastime.

Leave a Reply

 
