Christmas Wish Lists

wishbook-cover-1976

Remember the days of making Christmas Wish Lists? It was exciting when the mailman delivered the Sears Christmas Wish Book each year, (I’m sure not so much for him, since they were so heavy). But my sister and I would spend days compiling lists of our deepest desires. What fun we had.

We always had to hear the stories from my parents and grandparents about how they looked through those books, and how they came in so handy…long after Christmas, (as reading material/t.p. in the outhouse).

When Sears stopped publishing those wonderful books that made a child’s eye glass over with greed, we were sad. It was an end of an era. Now, you can find its equivalent online, but that’s just not the same.

But I have to tell you, as much as I loved some of my own Christmas Wish Lists, there are some that have been more special to me, some that have made me giggle — those of my children. Here are a few of my favorite excerpts from their Christmas Wish Lists past…

  • Bologna
  • Ice Cream
  • Fat Free American Cheese Slices
  • Yellow Penalty Flags for Football (he wanted to play referee)
  • Black Forest Ham
  • A Globe with a World Atlas
  • Warm Jammies
  • A Chef’s Hat and Apron
  • Books
  • Hot Chocolate with Mini Marshmallows
  • A Padded Toilet Seat
  • Santa loved my children!
    My, my, my, how the lists have changed… Ah yes, those were the good ol’ days.

    christmas2 Tonight it’s Tree Decorating! christmas2

     

    Don’t forget to leave a COMMENT… hmmm

    Stumble It!

    ~ by bloggingexperiments on December 5, 2008.

    4 Responses to “Christmas Wish Lists”

    1. Have fun decorating your tree!!
      This was a really cute post. Great list from your kids, they all made me giggle. Ahhh the Sears Wishbook, I remember those, I loved those. I always wanted a Teddy Ruxpin! Yes the lists have changed now.

      http://thejoereview.com/

    2. When I was a kid, my grandmother would sit me down in my grandfather’s easy chair (in which we were not otherwise allowed to sit), give me some post-its, then place the giant Sears catalog in my lap. She told me to go to town, to place a post-it on everything I might want from Sears. I would only ever get one or two things from the catalog, despite marking many more items than that, but this was my grandmother’s way of knowing exactly what I wanted. I miss those days.

      Your kids are awesome. I hope my kids one day ask for bologna for Christmas.

    3. omg-i forgot all about those catalogs! I, too, would painstakingly page through them with my red ink pen poised to circle. *nostalgic sigh* Barbie dream house.

    4. Betty: I remember a time when Teddy Ruxpin lived in my house.

      Megan: Aren’t Christmas memories wonderful! Ah, the innocense of children…

      Cole: Barbie dream house, and the swimming pool, and the camper, and the …

    Leave a Reply

         
