Gump-Blubbery!

bubba-gumps

My son’s 16th birthday was this past Tuesday. His all-time favorite movie is FORREST GUMP, so as part of his birthday present we gave him the DVD, and today, we took him to Bubba Gump’s Restaurant. Talk about delicious food…my word, YUM! We had a terrific time and were well entertained as they sang to Perry and made him dance for his ice cream sundae. Hilarious!

perry-leighanne

This is our beach. Notice a piece of the West Coast’s Largest Pier in the background!

 

Then we came home and watched the movie. I sat there, laughing, crying, feeling every emotion under the sun, and my thoughts went to how much I wanted to write something so powerful. I blubbered at the end of the movie, as I always do. I can only imagine the shape the author, Winston Groom, was in when he finished penning the book.

FORREST GUMP, the trailer

 

Now, I’m sure there are many differences between the movie and the book, as usual, so I’m just going to have to put that book on my reading list.

I’m feeling rather sentimental tonight, and still a little teary-eyed, thinking of all the unplanned and unforeseen blessings that have come my way through things that I have had no control over. “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.”

forrest-gump

Buy the book and join me for a read.

Wanna talk Forrest Gump? Leave me a COMMENT!

Stumble It!

“That’s all I have to say about that.”

~ by bloggingexperiments on November 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “Gump-Blubbery!”

  1. Wow! 16! Sounds like a very mature 16 year hold, don’t hear of any 16yr olds liking Forrest Gump, that’s great! My wife still gets emotional watching this movie as well. Haven’t read the book, might have to read it now, Sometimes the movie just doesn’t tell it like the book does.

  2. No, thejoereview, movies usually don’t do the books justice. From what I understand, Forrest has many more adventures in the book. I can’t wait to read all about them. šŸ™‚

  3. I cry every time I watch this movie. The MC in my WIP is a lot like Jenny. The music, the era…you just can’t say enough about how great this movie is.

    Unfortunately, I’ve never read the book either. I’m on vacation next week. The kids will be at school, and my slate is empty. I think I may have found something to do. šŸ™‚

    Thanks for the link to this!

Leave a Reply

 
