On The Chain Gang #5 – Angst

Happy 16th Birthday, Perry!

I love you! ❤

 

porcupine-hb

 

 

Happy Election Day vote Get Out and VOTE!

 

 

It’s Blog Chain Day…

 

Dun, dun, dun dun… Angst! And boy do I have it. My nerves are all a jitter today (must need more coffee). It is definitely a list day.

• Drive carpool to school
• Take daughter to physical therapy
• VOTE
• Get free cup of coffee at Starbucks
• Be home for the teacher to come to the house
• WRITE BLOG CHAIN POST ABOUT ANGST!
• Finish shopping for son’s 16th birthday
• Drive carpool home from school
• Make birthday dinner
• Fit in NaNoWriMo where ever possible

And that’s beside the normal everyday schtuff I have to do.

So, here it is for good, bad, or indifferent…

 

My LINK in the Blog Chain

THE BLOG CHAIN is comprised of a group of fiction writers from Query Tracker and Rally Storm. We thought it would be fun and insightful to acquire differing ideas and opinions on a particular writing topic.

So, we work through the chain posting one-by-one with the same general focus, and then, we repeat the process with a new topic for discussion. Check out the previous post at Sandra’s blog and the next post will be published at Elana’s blog within the next couple of days. If you would like to read this topic from the beginning, please see Archy’s blog.

All Blog Chain members are listed in the sidebar to the right.

My previous Link in the Blog Chain was on the topic of Confidence.

This Round’s Topic is:

Some people argue that creative people need “angst” to produce good work. Do you? What emotions drive you as a writer?

Angst – the drama of life.

Creative or not, I think life would be pretty boring without a little bit of angst. Think of those Walgreens commercials centered on Perfect, USA…

 

 

…wouldn’t perfection become monotonous without the joy of spontaneity or the adrenaline rush of anxiety?

I think writing would be the same. Who would want to read a story in which everything happens just the way the character wants it without the slightest hitch? And what writer would be able to finish a novel of the same? The bumps in the road make things interesting, provide motivation and determination, and require creative thinking to trudge around the twists and turns.

A writer needs to call upon every emotion in order to spin an engaging tale. Strong, intense emotions are a plentiful playground for a writer who uses them to pull the reader into the story and make them feel. It is a heady sensation a writer gets when s/he plays puppet master stringing the reader along a trail of raw emotion.

I know for myself, when I am writing a scene with extreme sentiment (good, bad, passionate, whatever) it is easy to be carried away and become a part of the story. That is exactly what I want when I read a book, and what I want my readers to experience. Even if you lived in Perfect, you’d want to escape into a book at some point. Angst and emotion offer credence and a sense of realism that would be lacking without them.

I don’t know if a writer must needs angst to write well, but it is certainly a powerful tool in a writer’s pencil box.

pencils

 

Don’t forget…the Chain started with Archy, the previous post was Sandra’s, and the next link is Elana’s. Enjoy!

 

Leave me a COMMENT and tell me your thoughts on Angst!

 

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on November 4, 2008.

10 Responses to “On The Chain Gang #5 – Angst”

  1. I agree that if you, the writer, get carried away with emotion during a scene, that makes it more likely that readers will too. I also like the image as angst as another pencil in the writer’s
    toolkit.

  2. I totally agree – a perfect book with perfect characters in which there is no conflict or angst of any kind would be BORING 🙂 As a writer, I am perfectly willing to channel a little angst for the sake of the story 😀

  3. That Walgreens commercial is so funny – I’ve never seen that one before. I have to agree with you though, while I might like to live in Perfect, USA (especially with those great self-cleaning windows) it would not be a very exciting place to either read or write about.

  4. Funny Commercial lol!

  5. Those “Perfect” commercials creep me out a little. Maybe just because they’re building Walgreen’s on every street corner. *snort*

  6. I definitely wouldn’t want to live in Perfect! Is boring. (Reminds me of Plesantville, that movie where the characters had no color until they actually started to break the rules in their lives.)

    You say it so well here: “Who would want to read a story in which everything happens just the way the character wants it without the slightest hitch? And what writer would be able to finish a novel of the same?”

  7. Abi, you’re so right about not wanting to read a story where everything is perfect. This was one of the hardest things for me to learn. In fact, just recently I realized one of my MC’s didn’t have any issues. She got along with her mom, she had a boyfriend, everything she wanted. I had to make her life harder, give her a little more attitude, make her not so perfect. I mean, who wants to read about that person? She needed some angst, and now she’s got it. Great post! 🙂

  8. I so get it! I always tell my husband that I so want “normal” in my life, which NEVER happens (too many kids…3 of them teens w/ drama). Of course, I never want to read “normal” because that WOULD be boring.

    🙂 Terri

  9. Okay. I’ve gotta tell you the “perfect” commercials creep me out. Love the fact you used one so effectively. Nice post. 🙂

  10. Oh, I love the Perfect, USA advertising campaign! I think they are too funny. I especially love the one where the Perfect baseball team is playing and the boy slides home to stand up and have his white uniform still sparkling clean. That one ran while my son was playing little league, and I’ll tell you that was one I wished could come true. Have you ever tried to get baseball clay out of white uniforms? Ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
