And So NaNo Begins…

If you have read my About… page, you are aware that I participated in and won the 2007 NaNoWriMo. What a great month of writing that was! If you have not tried it, you should. It’s not so much about writing THE PERFECT prose as it is just sitting down and writing. Get the rough draft written and edit and revise later. The creative journey my mind took was something amazing.

I had a bare-bones idea of a story tossing around in my head last year when I found out about this event. And I joined up on October 30th, to start the frenetic write-or-die. I was constantly surprised by my characters and the crazy situations in which they found themselves. And I was equally as thrilled by me and my absolute determination…I knew I had it in me!

Writing for NaNoWriMo was a whirlwind adventure, but it was also a great discipline. I had to churn out 50,000 words during the never-before-seemed-so-short month of November, and it was a challenge. I had a terrific NaNo Buddy (Joan) and we worked our way through our first event supporting and encouraging each other. When we both won the event, we celebrated together (via internet and cell phone since we live on opposite ends of the country).

If you haven’t heard about NaNoWriMo or have, but have never signed up for the ride, I encourage you to do so. It is NOT TOO LATE! As a writer you will benefit in so many ways: unleashing your creative flood gate, gaining discipline, learning to break through writer’s block, testing your limits, and much more.

This year, I am a NaNo Rebel! And yes, there is even a forum on the NaNoWriMo site for us rebellious writers. I am so close to finishing my revisions for THE GATEKEEPERS’ CHARGE, that I am going to NaNo my revisions, and then work on finishing my story from last year’s NaNo (which I haven’t looked at since November 30, 2007). It just doesn’t seem right to start a brand new project, when I need to finish the two I have. I want to query TGC!

Good Luck to all who are NaNo-ing!

Let me know if you are doing NaNoWriMo – Leave me a COMMENT.

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on November 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
