Wicked Writerly Fun #5

I saw the cutest tray yesterday that carried a saying I just loved.

“If you want  breakfast in bed,

you’d better sleep in the kitchen.”

I want breakfast in bed, but I’m dubious about the sleeping in the kitchen part!

Last Week:  What’s the Caption?

This week I present…

Click above or find the Link in the sidebar to the right under Fun Stuff.

For the writer in you —  Always wanting to improve your vocabulary and have a better understanding of words?  This fun online game gives you 10 words for which to find the etymology.  You have to use your logic and knowledge of language to extrapolate the correct answer from the multiple-choice listing.

Have a great time and LEARN about WORDS!

Review the game, and enter you scores in the COMMENTS section at the top of this post!

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on September 26, 2008.

7 Responses to “Wicked Writerly Fun #5”

  1. I got a score of MISERABLE. Ha, ha! I only got 2 out of 10 right. Should I be admitting that? Yeah, it’s okay. Those questions were h-a-r-d. 🙂

  2. HA! I have to study…6/10 for me. It is hard, but it’s fun too! 🙂

  3. How fun! I got six. I love games like this. Freerice.com is another favorite.

  4. Okay, I was just *ahem* working on improving my vocabulary, again. I was so excited I thought I was going to jump out of my chair! I was 5 for 5. I was AWESOME!!!! Bubble popped…got the next five wrong. You’ve Gotta Go Study!

  5. Ye gods — I didn’t realize it was going to be asking me word ORIGINS. I got 8/10, almost all (educated?) guessing.

  6. 9 out of 10 for me. Which apparently is “Good”.

    One of them was “nephrectomy”, though. If I didn’t know that one, I’d be in trouble. 😉

  7. Just “Good”????? Geesh, they’re tough scorers!

    My guess on nephrectomy would kidney removal or something like that. But you being a doctor and all…glad you know it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
