My Method of Writing

Mood: Happy 🙂

**NOTE: I have been testing out different colors for the various parts of my post.  But I’m not sure how this is working.  So, as this is Blogging Experiments, I am going to try something else.  Let me know which way you prefer.


A Writer’s Take on the Stephenie Meyer’s Midnight Sun debacle.

It’s kidnapping, I tell you!  It’s a tragedy!  The audacity of a so-called-friend!  To have your writing ripped from you, especially by someone you trusted, is devastating.  Your novel is another child, you give it the same love and nurturing, and you experience the same frustrations.  The time, the effort, the sacrifice of writing – is it worth it?

The answer Stephenie is, yes.  Time will pass, and although it may not heal all the wounds, many of them will fade, (the friendship is probably lost, but this person was obviously not worthy of your relationship).  My hope is that you will feel your readers and fellow writers supporting you and standing behind you during this rough spell.

Read the story at The Official Site of Stephanie Meyer in the 28 August 2008 (part II) post.

My Method of Writing

I haven’t written my first post for the Blog Chain, (not my turn yet), but one of the topics I missed was, “What Is Your Method Of Writing.”  So, I thought I might address that while I wait for the Chain Gang to pass the link my way with their next topic of discussion – “How real do your characters become?  Are your characters real people to you?   How much do you really know about them?”

The method I most often indulge in is a full immersion, by-the-seat-of-my-pants process.  Now, that does not mean I ignore everyone and everything around me, (I am a wife and mother).  When I am in writing mode, it doesn’t seem to matter what is going on around me.  I take care of the things I must, even though the story and characters are flying through my brain eager and fighting to get out and onto paper (or the computer).

Writing by-the-seat-of-my-pants simply means that I don’t use an outline.  I have a general idea of where I want the story to go, but I don’t have every step of the way pre-planned.  I absolutely LOVE writing this way.  It is as much fun to write, as it is to pick up a new book and read it for the first time.  I never quite know where my characters or storyline will take me.  And trust me; I have been surprised and devastated on a number of occasions.

Here is a quote I love from the movie, MISS POTTER:

“There’s something delicious about writing the first words of a story.

You can never quite tell where they’ll take you.  Mine took me here.”

When the story-gates open, I can tap away on the keyboard for hours, and feel like it’s only been a few minutes.  It comes fast and furious.  It’s thrilling; it’s exciting.

Writing is an adventure.

Stumble It!

~ by bloggingexperiments on September 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
